Social Studies 10

Part 2: Is College Worth It?

These are my criteria that I have chosen to rate my three alternatives: cost, rank, percentage of acceptance, and location. The cost and location both have a weight of 3 because it is important for me how much the college will cost and where it would take place. The percentage of acceptance has a weight of 2 because it would be nice if the percentage is high so I can get into the college more easily. The ranking of the colleges weighs the least because it does not play a major roll in my process of choosing my best college I would like to attend. The three colleges (alternatives) are University of Tokyo, Boston University, and Imperial College London. 

 

 

Criterion:
Cost
Weight: 3
Criterion:
Rank
(World’s Best Universities)
Weight: 1
Criterion:
Percentage of Acceptance
Weight: 2
Criterion:
Location
Weight: 3
Alternative:
University of Tokyo
(Public)

 + +

¥53,5800 = $6,954

+

24

– –

100/400
= 25%

+ + +

Tokyo, Japan

Alternative:
Boston University
(Private)

– – –

$41,420

64

+ +

58%

+ + +

Boston, MA
United States

Alternative:
University of California – Los Angeles
(My Choice)

– –

$34,482

+

35

– –

22.7%

+ + +

Los Angeles, CA United States

 

Leave a Reply

